Club Homepage
Posted By: Anonymous Thinking about buying this plane... - 02/15/06 06:20 PM
I started learning to fly 15 years ago & got within a few hours of getting my PPL - was in college, ran out of money, and finally quit. I'm interested in picking it back up again and I'm kicking around my options re buying, building and renting.

I'm certain an RV is in my future, but in the meantime I'd like to finish my PPL, instrument rating and commercial.

The cheapest rentals at my airport are Warriors @ $110/hr. If a good used 150/152 can work out to better than that over the course of, say, 300 hours - then I want one.

I found a plane that looks interesting. It belongs to an airline pilot friend of my uncle. Specs are:

1972 150L
O-200
4810 TTAF
700 SMOH
490 STOH (*will explain this below)
Annual on 11/05

Work done (@time)

Flap roller kit 4350
New spin-on oil filter 4350
New spark plugs
M20 Air/Oil Separator 4409
New Door Windows 4427
Topped Cylinders 4427
Cowl Fastener Kit 4575
New Starter 4638
New Alternator 4682
New Battery 4694
New Voltage Regulator 4733
New Vacuum Pump 4805
New Carpet and interior Plastics 07-2000
New Leather Yoke Cover w/PTT 01-2003
New Garmin GTX-327 Xpdr 09-2004
IFR Static Check 09-2004

Bracket Air Filter
Prop Guard
Wheel Pants
New Comm Antenna

Avionics:

Dual MX300s with a 3rd MX300 Spare (all 3 work fine)
Loc/GS/VOR
Cessna ADF
Garmin GTX-327 Xpdr
King Audio Panel w/ Marker Beacons
Intercom

According to my uncle, who knows the owner and has flown with him, the plane is in immaculate shape and the owner has spared no expense to keep it that way. His kids got their PPLs and instrument ratings in the plane and he recently bought a twin so wants to sell this one.

He is asking in the neighborhood of $25k for the plane. AOPA's VRef says something near 30k.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

-matt