Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 5 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: Thinking about buying this plane...
Matt_Redmond #38476 02/16/06 10:37 PM
Member/1000+posts
Member/1000+posts
Thanks Matt. That ad sounds like a 150 I looked at with a new prop and he had no paperwork (to back up his claim that it was just worn out) or old prop to show me. That scared me away from it.

If the engine has a new crank since it happened, would a prop strike still be a problem?

Eric_Salvo #38477 02/17/06 12:07 AM
M
M
Well I'm not a mechanic, but I assume that as long as the crankcase seals and bearings were replaced and the case wasn't cracked, then it would likely be okay.

But the lack of candor is worth worrying about. He might be forgetting to tell you about those fatigue cracks he found last week.

Eric_Salvo #38478 02/17/06 05:04 AM
Member/10,000+ posts!
Member/10,000+ posts!
Why is engine oil change listed? Is this a gray area and we really aren't supposed to be doing it?

Depends upon who you ask. According to Rick Hestilow, the FAA turns a blind-eye towards 'un-allowed' oil changes by non-mechanics. So he incorporated it into the STC so there would be no ambiguity.

The FAA's opinion can be found in Advisory Circular 43-12A which says, in part,

Items 6 and 23 (Part 43, Appendix A, paragraph (c)). These items permit the draining and reservicing of oil, and the removal, cleaning and reinstallation of oil screens, filters, and strainers in an aircraft oil system to be done as preventive maintenance, and are subject to the provisions of Sections 43.13(a) and (b).

However, Advisory Ciculars are only advisory, not law. It's not likely one would run afoul of the Feds over changing the oil, but Rick Hestilow wanted to make sure.

-Kirk Wennerstrom
President, Cessna 150-152 Fly-In Foundation
1976 Cessna Cardinal RG N7556V
Hangar D1, Bridgeport, CT KBDR
Matt_Redmond #38479 02/17/06 03:51 PM
Member/1500+posts
Member/1500+posts